Leaders Under 40: Celebrating DAZN’s Leaders in Sport

The Leaders Sport Awards are a tentpole moment in the industry calendar, where we reflect and celebrate sport’s successes over the past year. It’s also an occasion that recognises some of the industry’s most influential individuals and their achievements, and this year is no exception.

Following today’s announcement, we are thrilled to congratulate our own Veronica Diquattro, Andrew Ryan and Deirdre Fenton for being chosen among the Leaders Under 40 Class of 2020. As an incredibly competitive award, we’re delighted that as many as three colleagues from DAZN have been selected.

This year’s celebration is especially pertinent. The Class of 2020 have been chosen for their impressive leadership through sport’s most challenging year, as well as their work to revive the sector and move the sport industry forward.

We spoke to Veronica, Andrew and Deirdre on what they’ve learned from the past 12 months.

Discussing his personal highlights from this year, Andrew commented: “I was touched by the incredible positivity of my team at FIBA Media and all of our colleagues at DAZN and FIBA through some incredibly challenging times.”

Veronica added: “The hardest times and challenges can bring out the best of creativity. At DAZN, we were able to reinvent our platform, creating new exciting content and formats.”

When asked where the future of the sport industry will take us, Deirdre said: “I think we’ve only scratched the surface on improving the fan experience. New technologies and new mediums will accelerate that even more, and quickly.”

Andrew added: “As media and technology continue to come together, it’s going to deliver what is ultimately going to be a completely personalised content experience.”

Finally, Veronica summarised what it takes to make a great leader: “Being open to listen, trusting and empowering your teams, authenticity, and self-awareness – know what you know, and what you don’t.”

Veronica, Andrew, and Deirdre join fellow DAZN leaders James Rushton, Juan Delgado, Shaun Koiner, Joe Markowski and Laura Louisy, as successful Leaders Under 40 winners from previous years.